325

Act For Freedom Now RSS

Raw news from the insurrectionary anarchist webportal:

War on Society RSS

USA & Global news:

Posts Tagged ‘Coastal Reclamation’

Attack against Talvivaara mining company (Finland)

Saturday, March 9th, 2013

Thursday 8.3.2013 a group of people gathered in front of Finlandia Hall [in Helsinki, Finland] to demonstrate their discontentment against environmental crimes done by Finnish mining company Talvivaara* while the company was having shareholders meeting.

At the same time we did a solidarity action at Talvivaara headquarters in Espoo.

We throw smoke bombs inside the corridor of the building and decorated the wall with anti-Talvivaara slogan.

Our action was in solidarity with all those who have been suffering of the operations of Talvivaara mine and those who are fighting against the company.

Also we want to express our solidarity to smallholder rebellions in Kulon Progon area in Java Island [in Indonesia] and Tukijo that is imprisoned by Indonesian state.

We are deeply sorry about extra heart beats we caused for the worker in the corridor.

* Finnish mining company having a huge open-pit mine in North-East Finland. For years the local people and activists have brought up the fundamental violation of environmental legislation of Talvivaara. In December 2012 the company had major leak of poisonous waste water into lakes around the mining area causing of large scale pollution and it has still serious problems to “clean” the production line – probably never succeed. Talvivaara is mining mainly nickel and zinc, but uranium as well.

source: Takku via contrainfo

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Direct Action

Kulon Progo: Video Solidarity with Tukijo, imprisoned comrade in struggle (Indonesia)

Sunday, February 24th, 2013

From asimetris:

This video is a contribution to commemorate and honor the spirit of resistance against corporate and state- by Tukijo one of the brave farmers of Kulonprogo who is held hostage inside prison.

This video is dedicated and prepared by our comrades as an active contribution and participation in the horizontal struggle of farmers in Kulonprogo.

Check the video here >> ODE TO TUKIJO

Tags: , , ,
Posted in Eco Struggle

Manado Bay: Fisherfolks are in rebellion against mega-development project (Indonesia)

Wednesday, February 6th, 2013

Here are some photos of the action during last week done by fisherfolks in Sario-Tumpaan, against the coastal reclamation mega project across Manado bay.

The corporations behind the project work together with local politicians and local government to destroy the beach. Some anarchists joined horizontally with the fisherfolks to sabotage and blockade to interrupt the reclamation activity and as a form of solidarity.

Long live autonomous and horizontal struggle!

-Anti Authoritarian Fraction

Tags: , , ,
Posted in Direct Action

Greece: Banner over the Aegean Sea, in solidarity with the fisherfolk’s fight in the Manado Bay (Indonesia)

Sunday, August 5th, 2012



From contra-info:

In the context of Contra Info call for propaganda actions against repression, in the first days of August we placed a banner close to a coast and a crossroad on Kalymnos, an island where the traditional way of fishing and sponge diving has been performed for too many decades. This was our small token of solidarity with the ongoing struggle of the Malalayang traditional fisherfolk, who proudly resist a mega-project along the Manado coast, in Indonesia. We thus wanted them to know they are not alone.

Read and spread the call for solidarity and resistance against the mega-project of Coastal Reclamation in Manado (June 2012): in English / Spanish

The banner reads in Greek-English-Indonesian:

From Greece to Indonesia, sabotage against Capital/Power
Strength, fisherfolk of Manado
Solidarity with the fight in Manado-Indonesia
Long live sporadic direct action

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Eco Struggle

Call for Solidarity with the Malalayang Traditional Fisherfolk’s Struggle Against Coastal Reclamation in Manado (Indonesia)

Wednesday, July 11th, 2012

Coastal Reclamation, a megaproject that began in the early 1990s, continues along the length of Manado Bay. New land is being created in the sea to host big business, such as the establishment of new shopping palaces, the mushrooming of the banking industry, and assorted entertainment spots for the weary workers. The area of new land created in the reclamation zone stretches to thousands of hectares, spread over several major developments.

During the course of this development, there has been sporadic resistance from traditional fisherfolk along the Manado coast. Then in 2009, fisherfolk resisting in different parts of the bay began discussions to create a network of communication and started to show direct solidarity each time a group of fisherfolk was faced with conflict. (more…)

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Eco Struggle